Aligarh: Aligarh Muslim University (AMU) today started the two-day ‘World Neuro Congress—2017’ , an international conference on the theme of ‘Neurogenomics and Stem Cell Therapy’ at the Jawaharlal Nehru Medical College (JNMC) auditorium. The conference is organised by the Interdisciplinary Brain Research Centre (IBRC) of the University.  

Attending the inaugural function as the chief-guest, AMU Vice Chancellor, Professor Tariq Mansoor said that the IBRC in the Faculty of Medicine was established in 1976 by Late (Padamshree) Prof Mehdi Hasan.

“Prof Hasan taught me anatomy while I was a MBBS student and I still remember his passion for teaching,” said Prof Mansoor.   

The Vice Chancellor pointed out that the rapid advances in neuroscience have helped us with better understanding of the human brain. “The cutting-edge neuroscientific breakthroughs have come through innovations in basic sciences of physics, bio-chemistry and other sciences,” said Prof Mansoor. He also congratulated the organising committee for the success of the programme.

While talking about neural stem cells and neurogenesis, the guest-of-honour, Dr Gavin Stewart Dawe (Department of Pharmacology, National University of Singapore) said that there is an urgency and importance of understanding the brain. He added that the ageing process leads to neurological disorders such as Alzheimer’s disease and Parkinson’s disease and it is imperative to find ways of curing these disorders. 

Prof Subrata Sinha (Director, National Brain Research Centre) said that by establishing IBRC at AMU, Prof Mehdi Hasan sowed seeds for advancements in brain research in the country. “Prof Hasan’s remarkable work will be remembered by generations to come,” said Prof Sinha.

Dr Anjum Chugtai discussed neuro-oncology, neurodegenerative disorders, behavioral and cognitive sciences among other topics.

Prof S C Sharma (Dean, Faculty of Medicine and Principal, JNMC) delivered the welcome address, while Dr Fatima Khan conducted the programme. Dr Mahdi Hayat Shahi proposed the vote of thanks.

A souvenir of the conference was also released on the occasion.

Prof Pankaj Seth, Prof Prahlad K Seth, Dr Pushkar Sharma, Dr S Thameen Dheen, Prof Nihar Ranjan Jana, Dr Christiane Optiz, Prof Debrata Mukhopadhyay, Prof K P Mohanakumar, Prof Charnjit Kaur, Prof Kunzang Chosdol, Prof Mahendra K Thakur, Prof  B S S Rao, Prof Ishan Patro, Prof Vinay Kumar Khanna, Prof Neelam Shirsat, Prof Laxmi T Rao, Prof Kameshwar Prasad, Dr Sushil Kumar Jha, Dr Pravir Kumar, Prof Sarwat Sultana, Prof Suhel Parvez, Prof Yusra Ahmad, Prof Surendra Kumar Trigun, Dr Rajnikant Mishra, Prof Amjad Hussain, Dr Asfar Sohail Azmi, Prof Raghu Vemuganti, Prof Abbas Ali Mehdi, Prof Gurcharan Kaur, Prof Neetu Tyagi, Prof Anil Kumar and Dr Thiruma Valavan Arumugam are also attending the conference.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here